Import Text File

Greetings! I’ve been using Opto for 10+ years now in the oil and gas industry and this is my first forum post to write (I’ve been helped by reading many!)

I am trying to write certain information from a .txt file into Float Variables within Pac Control Pro. I’ve been stuck on this problem and looking for any kind of assistance. Here is an example of of the .txt file:

More information that will help:
The data is always in this order and format.
I’m only trying to pull the “Component” (gas name) and the “Raw Mole %”

I’m hoping for some tips to pull this data into PAC Control.
Thanks!

1 Like

Hi Nathan! 'Bout time you joined us! (Big grin). Welcome.

What hardware are you running this on?
Looks like the perfect job for Node-RED.
Even if there is a PC in the mix that you could run Node-RED and SoftPAC on and then pass the information down to the PAC Controller for example… Just looking for some ideas of what hardware options are in the mix.

We have a large network of PC’s running PAC Pro 10.3 hooked up to various S-1 Controller’s. Each S-1 then daisy chain’s to 3 EB-1’s.

If Node-RED would be the best path, I have a PC that can run Node-RED. We use Node-RED for some ModBus communication, but my programming in Node-RED compared to Control is very lacking to say the least.

Would this be simpler to convert to a comma delimited Excel file first?

Yes, having the file as a CSV for starters would be amazing, but… it depends on if that can be automated or not. If not, then we can probably deal with it as it is (but for sure CSV will be a LOT better as you will see).

So, here is how I would attack it… Node-RED has a file in node. It can read that file directly from the PC hard drive. It would need to be fired by some sort of inject node, either a timer, or a cron schedule etc.
There is another node, a file watch node that you can add to the project to check when that file is created or updated, so that takes care of that part of it.