What's the best way to connect to a Profibus device with a groov EPIC?

I’m exploring ways to interface an EPIC system with legacy equipment that uses a Profibus interface, ideally using the GRV-CSERI-4 for the physical connection. I’ve considered using the SNAP-PDPRS64 (SNAP Profibus-DP Digital Slave Brain), but it’s obsolete, and I’d still need to connect it to the EPIC (for a lightweight HMI). (This option isn’t off the table, though).

I have a few questions:

1. Has anyone successfully done this? (I prefer leveraging existing solutions!)
  2. Is there a Codesys solution that I might have missed? (I’m planning to dive into Codesys, but my schedule has been way too full.)
  3. Could anyone provide an estimate of the effort required to create a strategy for this? I have extensive interfacing experience but haven’t worked with Profibus yet.

Thanks for any feedback or guidance anyone can provide!

The easiest method would be to use a protocol converter such as an Anybus Gateway. Then you can just map it to modbus TCP.

This would be the exact model: Anybus X-gateway – PROFIBUS Master – Modbus TCP Server

Speaking of which, I am trying right now to integrate a Anybus MbTcp to Ethercat main to Kollmorgen.
Do you have any idea of how this works??? It is not straight forward unless you already know how to do it.
Also, CAN is an option except that the Pac Control driver sub is not out yet, when is it going to be out? Do you have a beta version?

It will depend on what protocols you are using. This page and accompanying video may help.

Regarding CAN support for PAC Control, I am unaware of any update to it at this time.