Snap-idc5 within a relay circuit

Hello
I have a circuit consisting of an emergency stop button, a SNAP-IDC5, a reset button and a relay coil with a resistance of 600ohm.
The circuit is powered by 24v DC supply.
The SNAP-IDC5 acts simply as an indication that the Emergency Stop button circuit is healthy.
The 24V supply goes through the E Stop button and then through the OPTO module and on to the reset button and then onto a relay coil which energises contacts off the relay.
When the reset button is pressed to energise the relay coil there is only about 4 volts on the ‘out’ side of the OPTO module, the OPTO module therefore seems to be ‘dragging’ down the voltage to a level where it isnt sufficient enough to allow the relay coil to be energised.
Has anybody any ideas why the OPTO card is acting as a large resistance and ‘dragging’ down the voltage?
Kindest regards
Paul

Hello Paul,

Welcome to the OptoForums! I’m no expert on wiring, but I checked with our Product Support Group (don’t forget, support is always FREE!) and learned this:

The SNAP-IDC5 should be in parallel with the part of the circuit that you want to know is receiving voltage, like the relay coil. When the relay coil is receiving voltage, the SNAP-IDC5 will be ON and when the relay coil is not receiving voltage, the SNAP-IDC5 will be OFF. The SNAP-IDC5 has 15,000 ohms of resistance. See the Specifications tab at this link: Opto22 - SNAP-IDC5 - SNAP 4-Ch 10-32 VAC/VDC Digital (Discrete) Input Module

Hope that helps!
-OptoMary

Thank for your reply Mary
So the internals of the OPTO module have a 15000ohm resistance?
I should check what current is required fort he relay coil to operate correctly.
Kindest regards
Paul

Paul,

To illustrate Mary’s suggestion, below is an example circuit with a normally closed E-stop, a normally open momentary reset button, a relay, and the IDC module placed to detect that the circuit has power.

Jason

Hi and thanks for your schematic.