Scan time explained - old forum post

peterservo

Joined on 03-10-2007
Posts 2
SNAP PAC R1/2 Application Performance?

My background is in providing controls for Industrial Automation, particularly Machine Tools and Automated Assembly machines.

We are a new Opto distributor and of course we run up against PLC people on a daily basis.

I saw a question recently in which a person asked what the scan time of an Opto controller was? The person who answered the question went on to explain that a PAC is different from a PLC. While I understand that concept, the question remains un-answered in my mind.

What I would like to see is empirical data that shows what the typical response time would be for a “typical” Machine Tool application.
For example, if I had an application in which I had 4-5 differnt charts running and one of the charts was coummnicating with an HMI using Modbus TCP, how often would any of my IO points or the communication channel be “serviced”?
I understand that it is difficult to quantify this due to application variables, but with other multi-threaded controllers I’ve worked with, there is a definite task scheduling mechanism (sometimes user adjustable with the ability to prioritize tasks) whereby a user is able to predict how often any of the individual threads are serviced. Further, it would be nice to know the average number of instructions the controller is able to process per timeslice?

I think that this information will be most useful to people like me who are coming from the PLC world and need to have some assurance that an OPTO product is a viable solution.
04-04-2008, 10:45 AM
Mr. Bill

Joined on 09-23-2003
Posts 18
Re: SNAP PAC R1/2 Application Performance?

The question of “scan time” is one we get often when comparing Opto 22 PAC control systems with typical PLC systems. The answer lies in the fundamental differences in the architecture and design of each system.