PID to control a strategy variable

Hi there

I am new to working with PID loops and I’m wondering if my project will work well for one. I am looking to program a control strategy for a blower system which moves grain from one bin to another. I have a pressure sensor in the system to monitor the pressure in the pipe, and an electric slide-gate which controls how the rate of flow of the seed entering the system. The gate is controlled by a forward-reversing contactor. The gate movement is controlled and its position is calculated in the strategy.

My question is, can I use a PID loop to calculate the desired gate position based on pressure reading of the blower system? The desired pressure setpoint would be user defined from the HMI.

Hi Jegar. Welcome to the Opto forums.

Just to be clear, analog input (pressure sensor), digital output (slide-gate)?

Thanks, good to be here!

Yes, you’re correct. Pressure input is analog and the gate control is digital forward/reverse motor control.

Cool.
The other keyword you already mentioned is ‘strategy’.

So with that, yeah, we can dive in a bit and give some overview…

The digital output means you are going to run the PID as a TPO. Time Proportional Output.

In PAC Control you need to configure your slide gate digital output with the TPO feature.

Then you can add your PID loop and select the pressure sensor as its input and the slide gate as the PID output. The setpoint will be ‘from host’, which means HMI (groov view or PAC Display is my guess).

Then in your strategy, you need to setup your PID and in a looping chart (with a delay of course) you need to use the command Set PID setpoint every loop as needed.

As far as tuning and scan rate, it’s hard to say from here since there are a ton of variables that you will be well versed in.
Hopefully, you can play around a bit before a bunch of grain ends up somewhere it shouldn’t.

Of course, drop any questions here in the thread, bunch of folks are kicking around to help out.