PAC PID with Two Proportional Valves

I will start by saying that I’m a newb when it comes to PID’s and heating/cooling.

That said, I have an application in which I need to maintain the liquid temperature in a tank using a heat exchanger. I’ve been told the heat exchanger has two proportional output valves, one for heating and one for cooling, I assume one with hot water and the other cold, respectively.

My presumption is the system would partially open one or both valves until the temperature was at the setpoint. I wouldn’t think it’s a simple matter of opening one valve and closing the other otherwise the system would be constantly opening/closing valves.

Any thoughts on how I can do this with a PAC PID? Should I use two PID’s instead? I think I read somewhere here about using one for heating and one for cooling but I’m not sure how that would work either.

Thanks!

What temperature range does the tank need to be kept within?

Edit: Doesn’t matter - I would recommend using a separate PID for cooling and heating since they will likely require different tuning coefficients. You can then use some PAC Control code to switch between them (by changing the mode to manual, see SetPidMode). Use the velocity algorithm as the other algorithms are a pain when modifying them in your strategy. Avoid using the D term, you shouldn’t need it.

To determine the time to switch PIDs, you would look at the PID output (your valve position request) and when it reaches zero output AND your input is passed the middle of the deadband (the range between the cooling and heating setpoints) to need the other valve, you would switch PIDs.

Can we look at an example?

Let’s say the current temperature is 20 C and the setpoint is 60 C.

When it starts, since the current temperature is less than the setpoint, we enable the heating PID.
The heating valve opens continually until the temperature reaches target 60C.