NodeRed Function Block Require

I am still an amateur with Node-Red.

I want to run this logic in a function node.

I am getting this error.

ReferenceError: require is not defined (line 2, col 13)

Searching for solutions it looks like I need to install “npm install mariadb”

Is this possible with Node-Red on an groovEpic PR1?

// Required modules
var mariadb = require(‘mariadb’);

// Define database connection configuration
var pool = mariadb.createPool({
host: ‘10.0.0.150’,
user: ‘master’,
password: ‘password’,
database: ‘database’
});

// Attempt to connect to the database
pool.getConnection()
.then(conn => {
console.log(‘Connected to MariaDB database’);
// If connected, release connection
conn.release();
})
.catch(err => {
console.error(‘Error connecting to MariaDB database:’, err.message);
// Set alarm variable
flow.set(‘database_alarm’, 'Error connecting to MariaDB database: ’ + err.message);
});

// Return message for the connecting function node
return {
payload: ‘Connected to MariaDB database’
};

In short, thats not how you would make a connection with mariadb in Node-RED.
Looks like its just a cut/paste from some computer code vs Node-RED.

You will need to first ensure you have a shell license installed on your EPIC. (Its a free option, but if you are not comfortable with a good level of Linux command line experience, you might want to rethink your setup).
Check out developer.opto22.com to get the outline on installing mariadb on EPIC.

Once thats up and running, you will need the mySQL node, install it via the palette manager in Node-RED.
Once that is done and configured, you can then format your data that you want to insert in the Node-RED flow. Lots of examples for that here in the forums or on our Opto22 YouTube channel.
For select statements, you would use the function node and set the msg.topic to get the data you are looking for.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I have been using the mySQL node successfully for a while.