Multiple Shaft Speed Monitoring Help Please

I’m using Pac Control Basic (Version R10.5b) to “try” to create a project to read the speeds of up to 64 shafts. I found some great information on form 1784 "RPM Measurement Techniques. Due to the slow speeds of most of the shafts I’m reading I chose to use the Period Measurement Method, and used the example chart as a guide. This works very well for one shaft but I haven’t found a way to build it out for all of the required shafts without exceeding the maximum of 16 charts available on the Snap Pac R1 that I am using.

I am a novice on Pac Control, this is my first real experience with flow-chart style of programming. I would appreciate any help on this please.

Option1: Use Subroutine

Your best bet is probably to abstract the actual logic into a subroutine and pass the required data for each shaft to the subroutine. This would allow you to ensure the logic is consistent for each shaft while also requiring a single chart.

Option 2: Use Pointers

If you don’t want to use a subroutine, you could also have a single chart that assigns pointer variables for each shaft using a loop and then runs the main logic against the pointer variables:

1. Block 0 (Action Block)
    • initialize index to 0
  2. Block 1 (OptoScript Block)
    • if exceeded max index, set index back to 0
    • switch statement with entry for each shaft for assigning pointers or convert index to string and use GetPointerFromName command to set pointers for current shaft.
  3. As many blocks as you need for shaft logic
  4. Block to increment index then loop back to Block 1.

Option 3: Separate Charts

You could also create a chart for each chart and either have each chart call the next one (creating a loop) or have a separate management chart that calls each chart in order (using CallChart instead of StartChart).