Import CSV and isolate single data point

Hey,

I’m fairly new to coding in general and just started learning Opto22 last week, so most of these forum topics have gone way over my head which is why I’m posting this question, hoping for some help and simple explanations for someone with very little background.

I need to know how to take a running Excel file, make a copy of that csv file, import it into Opto, take the last value for a specific column and then make a loop so it does this every 30 min.
I know this should be possible, I just have no idea what I am doing and I don’t have anyone around me who knows anything about this program.

Thank you for any help, it is most appreciated!

Hi, welcome to the forums!

Can you make the Excel file a Google Sheet?
If so, it can be easily automated like you want via Node-RED.

The Excel file data is coming from a power supply that the PAC-R1 is communicating with and I don’t think I can change where that information is going to as far as Excel or Google Sheets.

Oh, SNAP-R1… Opps, my bad, I should have asked that up front… ie, what controller/hardware are you using…

Ok, since its an R1, I think the way I would go about it is to run Node-RED on a Windows PC.
Use a Windows bat file to pull the Excel and convert to CSV every 30 minutes.
Use Node-RED to read that CSV in and get the single column of data you want.
Then use Node-RED to do a REST call on the R1 and send it the data.

Another option would be to run SoftPAC on a Windows PC and it could pull the CSV and talk to the R1 as remote IO.

The bat file to convert the Excel to CSV will be on you, that’s outside of the Opto sandbox. (There might be others on the forums that have done this - if so, sound off please).

Do you have any other programming experience? PAC Control sounds new to you, but I am just trying to get a feel for what option might be the best, Node-RED or PAC Control… either will a little learning curve.