Customizations?

So I am a relatively new user to Groov (and Opto for that matter). My background is largely in UI programming. I have spent a ton of time client side in javascript (mainly jQuery and Ext). What options do I have as an end user to customize the Groov interface? It would be cool to create my own gadgets and extend the existing interfaces. I assume I can get in there somewhere and modify css for the existing controls? Any chance of access to an un-minified groov.js?
Again, I am just starting to play so I apologize if I missed something in the docs. Thanks in advance!

Short answer: Not yet, stay tuned…
The best way to stay tuned is by subscribing to OptoNews (click here).
Keep those good ideas and suggestions coming!
Thanks,
-OptoMary

I heard a salesman recently say that Groov uses Google Gadgets for their gadgets. Is this true? Is there a way to make our own gadgets using this Google tool??

Hi Mary,
I am just getting going on Groov (finally after having one of the first groov boxes). This is really the right direction, but as I am sure you are hearing, we need stuff! Lots more stuff. And/Or we need access to make tools as mentioned above. Here is a short list of things needed…

1. Object selection. Right now, you have to individually pick each item to move or otherwise modify. The mouse needs to window select objects and it would be nice to have both window and crossing selection.
  2. Object tag find and replace.
  3. Grouping, without masking the grouped dynamic values, and the ability to modify the grouped tags without un-grouping.
  4. Alphanumeric Tag Selection.
  5. Double click on an object and get the tag selection box.