Connecting Groov EPIC PR1 to Pressure Process Control System

Hello! im currently a process automation university student. Im doing my capstone project for my final year.

Im trying to connect the groov epic PR1 to one of my university trainers AMATROL T555 Pressure Process Control System, inside the trainer is a Siemens S7-1200 connected with an unmanaged switch SCALANCE XB00 series. The goal is to connect the groov EPIC PR1 to the trainer and get the PLC tags and create a HMI to the cloud in order to be controlled remotely.

I already did a couple of Groov Trainings and I know that I have to get the S7-1200 PLC IP address to get the tags and create a cloud-based HMI and remotely control the trainer.

I would really appreciate any form of advice from you guys!

Thank you!

Ryan Vladimir Alcantara,

Hi Ryan. Are you planning to use Ignition Edge to get the Siemens S7-1200 tags? This video shows how it’s done using Ignition Edge v7. We are up to v8 now, but this should be helpful - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xdq_ynMy6Zg

Once you get those tags into the Ignition Edge OPC UA server, it should be fairly easy to create groov View HMI screens on your EPIC. Watch that video top to bottom and let me know if that’s the idea of what you are trying to do.

Hey Dan! thank you for replying to this forum page.
I will now try the video that you shared!

Yes, I will be trying igniton edge to get the tags in the Siemens PLC. However, the S7-1200 PLC is connected to an unmanaged switch wherein the local HMI and other components are connected.

Do you have any suggestion how I could try to get the IP or hostname of the Siemens PLC that is connected from the switch?

thanks,

On the PC that is connected to the switch, (Or hook up a laptop for a quick moment), install and run Angry IP Scanner. It will quickly scan the subnet and find the Siemens IP (host names wont work on that PLC, so dont even bother trying).