Beginner looking to diagram a project

I’m just getting started with my first project. I want to diagram it in some standard way to share the logic with other users as I begin to put the parts and pieces of the OPTO22 system together. Are there any good tutorials for guiding this process control diagramming?

Kirko, well I like my approach and of course one problem in Opto is that they don’t want to put you in a box from the start, however, I would argue that beginners need a box. I arrived at this approach after making many mistakes and some of them repeatedly.

Start by labeling all Block0 as Start, and typically don’t put anything in them. Next, if this chart is a typically looped chart, then the next block should be labeled “Return” block. If you want to run the chart at 1 sec, then put it in here. Any initiallizing you may need to add can simpply be added between these block later. If you need to make a chart that runs once and ends, be sure to label the last block END. This is because later when you use the [B](very important) [/B]FIND (spyglasses) missing connections command and you see these block names show up, you will be able to dismiss those items becuase you know from the block name that they are intentionally missing.

I use a simple top to bottom “tree” style which is sooo much easier to read later when you have forgotten what this program does. All the logic can be branched out to the left or right but I do not use both directions, one or the other, it is much easier to read.

Each branch of logic does one thing or typically a “system” or a piece of a system and originates off the TREE in a conditional block. The condition can be any number of things or just a timer, it depends on what the branch is doing.