Connect to 2 way radio system

I am new to node-red, although in the past I have used SMC gateways which use the same type of workflows.

What I would like to do is connect a Motorola Mototrbo radio to node red via USB so I can then send text messages through a radio system.

example if I had an alarm from a serial port then this would send a text to a radio to alert a user. does anybody know how I would achieve this?

SMC uses the following info to connect a mobile

USB connection
CAI Prefix – The CAI (Common Air Interface)
Radio ID
IP address of the mobile

Let me know if you require anymore information.

Thanks

Bungouk

Is this on a groov EPIC, or is Node-RED running on some other sort of computer?

it’s Node-RED running on a raspberry pi

Do you anymore information of me?

Without the radio or the SMC gateway device, its a bit hard to help much. Also this forum is for Node-RED running on a groov EPIC system, not Raspberry Pis. You might try the official Node-RED forum over at https://discourse.nodered.org/… That said, have a look at this thread (USB to Serial adaptor support for AR1), it shows how to connect USB devices to groov EPIC, it should be similar for a Pi.

So, you hook the USB to the Pi and the radio. Use the serial Node in Node-RED to communicate via the CAI protocol using a Function Node. From there you just need to know the protocol to get the Radio ID sorted. The IP address of the radio should be the same IP address as the Pi since thats what its connected with.

What is your end goal? To replace the SMC Gateway with a Pi?

1 Like

Thanks for your input.

at the moment its a project at home so I can learn node-red, if all goes well then I would look to replace the SMC with a PI.

With the SMC all nodes are there ready to drag drop onto the workflow plus the programming has been done for connecting a radio.