Ethernet Communications Loss - Plantwide Shutdown

Hello,

I’m new to Opto22, so this might be a basic question, but…

Currently I have a plant network composed of multiple PR1s. The ‘Main’ PR1 is running a control engine sending commands to the other PR1s in normal operation.

Every device (PLCs etc.) in the plant is routed through an ethernet switch. My question is, how would you handle a plant shutdown if the switch lost power, so there was no communications between any of the PLCs? Is there a way to run a control engine on each individual controller (to handle Ethernet loss shutdowns), while simultaneously accepting the “Main” PR1’s control engine (which runs normal operations)?

Thanks for taking the time to read this post.

Each PR-1 has a “Scratchpad” memory area that can be read/written.
This is a handy way to pass information back and forth between controllers.
Are you using PAC Control as your control language?
If so check out the Users Guide under the Help menu for more information.

That is a pretty common challenge that a lot of controls folks face.
I had to figure out a way to do it with SNAP controllers 25 years or more ago. The hospital I worked at had around 35 controllers scatted around the facility and needed a few central ‘master’ controllers to keep everything working smoothy. Different parts of the network would go out from time to time. I had to set things up to ensure everything kept working during the outage.

I’m sure others will chime in here with some other suggestions… But a few thoughts from my experience.

1. Use the dual network ports on the PR1.
    At the hospital the SNAP PAC controllers also had dual ports and so I had dual network switches plugged into different power sources and different IP addressing setup for each. You could do something similar with the PR1s pretty easily. (Assuming you can bear the one time burden and cost of running the network cables for the second network).