Noob question about wireless distances

I’ve looked over the site and haven’t been able to find any information on the distance limitations on the wireless units. I’m familiar with spread-spectrum radios (use them with a Control Microsystems PLC SCADA system). How does Opto’s wireless compare? Two applications I am looking at are: (1) a water utility with two treatment plants, two remote tanks, & eleven remote wells. Distances are one to five miles, with line of sight and (2) a wastewater system with one plant and 30 lift stations scattered over a five square mile area. Lift stations would be monitor only.

My apologies if this is the wrong section for this or I have over looked something obvious on the site.

Hi bheller,

Welcome to the OptoForums! I’m no expert but 1 to 5 miles sounds pretty far, especially since I’ve heard that rule-of-thumb our 802.11b/g devices have a similar range to something like an iPAD’s wifi (vs. cellular).

If we look at the spec for a SNAP-PAC-S2-W, for example, I see lots of numbers (including 802.11b/g), but what does that all mean? If I were to believe the [URL=“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11”]Wikipedia entry about 802.11b/g, their outdoor range is 460 feet. (That sounds far-ish too and of course will vary depending on many factors.)

I’ve also heard it’s possible to extend the range of our wireless devices by replacing the standard screw-on antennae with a bigger one. Still, I think the ranges you’re talking are outside normal “wifi” type ranges.

Perhaps a good place for a cellular modem? Here’s another post about those:
http://www.opto22.com/community/showthread.php?t=349

Hope that helps!
-OptoMary