Brain vs Controller

I am a total newbie to OPTO22 but not for PAC’s DCS’ & PLC’s. Just recently inherited a customer that is using PAC systems R1 controllers and EB-1 Brains. They have given me the downloaded strategy file and claimed it was downloaded from a EB-1 Brain module.

That cannot be right, right?

I thought Controllers held the Strategy files and Brains were simply I/O processors. Can a strategy file be loaded on to a Brain?

Next Newbie Question:

In the OPTO world, How are I/O Status from a brain module gets sent to the controller and finally to an HMI?

Rack1:[ Brain / IO] ------ENET--------> [RACK2: Controller + I/O]----ENET–> [HMI]

Is the Above correct?

How are the I/O status from Rack2 Sent to Rack1 or from Rack1 to Rack2? (Where do I look in the strategy file to find out how this is done)

Thanks

Hi Skyfox,

Welcome to the forums! Sounds like you’re not a total newbie, you’ve got a good handle on the pieces already.

If you could give a few more specifics to make sure we’re on the same page, that would be great. When you say “downloaded strategy file” what do you actually have? Is it the compiled “control engine download file” (a single file with the extension .cdf)? Hopefully they gave you an entire PAC Control “archive” (a zip file with a number of files in it that make up your whole “strategy”).

Either of those would require a controller to run (in a PAC-R like you mention, or one of our many other controllers, including the PC-based one we call SoftPAC). Click here to see form 1677 that gives a full comparison of brains/controllers. For a higher-level overview try [URL=“http://www.opto22.com/site/fd_snappac_components.aspx”]this flash interactive demo on SNAP components. The PAC-R is a special since it’s both a controller AND and I/O unit, as you correctly indicated on your diagram.