Is it possible to program GROOV with Node-red and at the same time with the CODESYS runtime (and other questions)?

Hello everyone,
I am completely new to OPTO22 systems (and to this forum). So if my questions are basic (or in the wrong place), I would be more than happy if you could redirect me to the correct documentation where I can find my answers :blush:

1. Is it possible to program GROOV with Node-red and at the same time with the CODESYS runtime (so basically run Node-red + program in structured text using IEC-61131-3 programming language for example)?

2. If this is indeed possible – can those two programs communicate with each other (via some file’s if the GROOV’s controllers are based on linux)?

• I am mainly asking this because programming in CODESYS runtime is more “industry robust” and I would use Node-red for only Cloud communication.
  1. Since GROOV controllers are based on Linux, can I install Anydesk for remote access and updates of software?
  • If no – how software updates are resolved? If my installation is somewhere on the other side of the country, do I need to “manually” update the software (for example using remote desktop in the local network and rewrite the program from there)?
  1. I couldn’t find any GROOV controller that has built in RS485 serial bus and thus for Modbus RTU capabilities. I could find only expansion modules. Is there any GROOV controller that has built-in RS485 and Modbus RTU capabilities (best-case scenario is something based of GROOV-AR1-BASE)?

If my questions are too wide and the answers differ based on which GROOV controller I choose – I am currently thinking about GROOV-AR1-BASE for IoT Edge computing.

Thank you in regards for any answers!
Jakub Szlaur

1 Like

First I want to welcome you to Opto 22. I will provide information to each point that I have answer for.

1. Yes, you can run both Node Red and the Codesys runtime Engine at the same time.