TCP/IP 900 Mhz Radios

I was wondering if anyone has found or used a 900 Mhz radio that uses TCP/IP? The radios we currently have deployed use a proprietary multi-hop network protocol and we are experiencing a fair amount of communication issues. My background is in the IT world where TCP/IP is the standard, and I’m used to having tools like ping, tracert, arp, etc. which allow me to know if something is really there on my network. We use these radios in an agricultural environment over large areas, and knowing if a device is functioning correctly without physically going to the device is important.

Thanks in advance.

Dave

Hi, Dave—
I am no expert—but could this Moxa product help you?

Gray

1 Like

Actually, that looks promising. Thanks!

I have used ubiquiti rocket M 900 radios for years with Opto and works like a charm and very affordable

1 Like

I’ve used Ubiquiti 900mhz stuff for Opto22 as well and would recommend.

1 Like

@Andy_Thomson and @jtanski
What model numbers of the Ubiquiti stuff did you use?

Hey Ben, Ubiquiti’s Rocket M900 line is the way to go for industrial use, I typically use their Yagi (typically comes in a two pack) AMY-9M16, to go with the RocketM900 radio. Of course, always outdoor shielded cable and connectors. Tycon power has some nice POE injectors (http://tyconsystems.com/index.php/products/power-over-ethernet/poe-injectors) when using the 120V one they come with doesn’t work. For more specific application design PM me or give me a call. I have multiple municipal SCADA systems using different frequencies and radio types, I’m quite familiar with their product for a variety of applications. For GHz range radios, RFArmor kits are incredible.