Staging Submersion Heaters to operate on/off like an Hvac system

I currently have my heaters designed to turn on and off based on a certain temp (the low and high setpoints of that temp). But I need them to actually regulate the temp and turn on and off as needed like an Hvac system does when it is set on auto.

I guess I need help getting my submersion heaters to be more on an auto mode rather than the manual mode I kind of have them on if that makes sense. I am not sure how to write that into my strategy at all but I am also not sure if the equipment is my issue in some way too. How do I know if the heaters we have are capable of this and what type of module should I switch too? If I currently have them on d.o. modules for on/off only do I need to switch them to an a.o. to be able to ramp them up and down for more of an auto mode?

I am completely new to all of this and this is the very first strategy I have worked with.

Welcome to the Forums.

Couple of quick thoughts / questions…

1. What is prompting this change? Sounds like the temperature is varying too much?
    What if you just moved the on and off set point closer together? There would be less variation and zero change required to the strategy? (I’m sure you have thought of this, I am just trying to understand the process and the reasoning behind changing it).

2. You say that you have set points for on and off, but then you also mention that they are in manual mode and you want an auto mode. I am a little confused if they are being controlled by an Opto system or some other computer system now?