Pac Display beginner questions

I’m a real newbie building my first project. My system is running in PAC Control Basic and I’m currently working on a basic HMI.

I have a couple of simple questions. The first with text formatting in the HMI. In PAC Display Basic how do I format text for multi-lines? Also, multi-line text on buttons?

Second, when using PAC Display runtime, how do you hide the "PAC Display Runtime Basic "header bar?

Thanks,
Deane

Hi Deane,

Welcome to the forums!

1. Multi-line text? Shift+Enter is your friend. This causes a hard line break.
  2. Multi-line text on buttons? Don’t use the text for the button. Put the button down, then overlay text on the button. (See point 1.)
  3. Hiding the title bar. In Config mode, click on Configuration -> Runtime. Wealth of options there, hiding all sorts of things, setting up how it looks when it starts up and how hard it is to exit.

Lets know if you have any other questions, there are a bunch of PAC Display whizzes on this board.

Cheers.

Ben,

Thanks for your reply. These are just the hints I was looking for!
Deane

I also have a PAC Display for beginners question. What is the recommended RAM size for it?

Thanks!
~Aaron

Ben,

Thanks for pointing me to the Runtime config options, great information.

Still having trouble with multiline text. The Shift+Enter solution just closes the text editing window and does not change the text formatting. While editing text, I press and hold the Shift key then press Enter. This closes the window. What am I doing wrong?

Deane

Aaron,

Short answer: It depends.

Long answer: It [I]mostly [/I]depends on how many super trends you have.
Check out page 5 of the PAC Display Users Guide. If you are in PAC Display Configurator, click on Help -> Manuals -> PAC Display Users Guide. (If not in config mode already, you will find the manuals under the Windows - > All Programs -> Opto 22 -> Manuals).

Some other factors to consider;
Page 35, multi monitors.