Optoscript to find last Friday of each month

I’m a complete novice with opto22 and I was trying to help a coworker find the last Friday of each month to trigger something to run. Could someone give me any hints or point me in the right direction?

Hi! I think the methods GetDayOfWeek(), GetMonth(), and GetDay() are the tools you’re looking for. They return 1-7, 1-12, and 1-31 respectively.

I haven’t tested any of this, but how I would go about it is to start by creating a table of all the days in each month, something like this:

DaysInMonth[1] = 31;  // January
DaysInMonth[2] = 28;  // February
DaysInMonth[3] = 31;  // March
DaysInMonth[4] = 30;  // April
DaysInMonth[5] = 31;  // May
DaysInMonth[6] = 30;  // June
DaysInMonth[7] = 31;  // July
DaysInMonth[8] = 31;  // August
DaysInMonth[9] = 30;  // September
DaysInMonth[10] = 31; // October
DaysInMonth[11] = 30; // November
DaysInMonth[12] = 31; // December

This only needs to be done once, so I would put it in it’s own block. After that it’s a matter of checking to see if it’s Friday, if it is then check if there’s less than a week until the end of the month. To get “days remaining” just reference the table using the current month number and subtract off the current date.

if (GetDayOfWeek() == 5) then
  if ((DaysInMonth[GetMonth()] - GetDay()) < 7) then
    // trigger that thing to run
  endif
endif

I think the next leap year where February 29th is a Friday isn’t until 2036, at which point it will give (28 - 29) = -1, which is still < 7 so this shouldn’t break, but I can’t say for sure…

How exactly you want to do the repetition, whether though a loop, delay block, time check, or something of that sort will depend on your application. Here’s a little chart I threw together to demonstrate what it might look like:

Again, this is sort of a throw together, it has not been tested thoroughly (or, uh, at all) but I hope it helps!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate this!

On this part