IP watchdog time out with ping. - old forum post

kulminati

Joined on 09-05-2008
Posts 2
Kindly Help

Hi all,

I am VERY new to Opto 22 so please forgive me if my questions seem elementary. I recently have come across a problem that I could use some help with. We have opto 22’s in 2 different locations (Opto 22 SNAP-B3000-ENET). Basically the scenario is to use an IP Watchdog to ping an Opto 22 brain in Location A from Location B.

Now the goal is to use the IP Watchdog to keep pinging the brain, but in case loss of communication between the locations occurs, and the IP Watchdog can’t ping the brain in Loc A anymore, we want to trigger an event/reaction in an Opto 22 module in Loc B. So basically, as soon as the brain in Location A doesn’t respond, a module in Location B triggers a particular event/reaction to “safe” a system.

The modules are all digital btw.

How would I go about starting such a task? I could ANY help that you guys are willing to provide.

Thanks!

09-11-2008, 7:54 AM

ben orchard

Joined on 12-08-2004
Posts 33
Re: Kindly Help

I suspect that this is very hard to do with just B3000-ENET’s.
It would be very simple to do with 2 controllers. (i.e swap the brains for PAC-R controllers?)
The brains only have event reactions in the way of automated responses, and can not be configured to have the other as remote I/O, so its hard to make them aware of the other brain.
Since you have the two brains, I suspect that you must have at least one controller in the mix somewhere (at location A, B or C)?
If this is the case, then you could use the controller to look at mem map address 0xF030 010C which is milliseconds since power-up on the two brains.
If you get two readings the same from the same brain, or it times out, then you have a problem and the controller can get the other brain to call for help, or the controller can do it.