How Do you Wire Your OPTO?

We are really happy with our Opto PAC systems, and comission new ones for plant efficiency improvement (cost reduction, error proofing) projects probably 5-6 times per year. Every implementation is a little smoother than the last one, except for the wiring.

My background is in Mechanical/Manufacturing Engineering, and i am the project manager and lead engineer on most projects. Typically, wiring diagrams are made in solidworks (as a drawing) and excel ( as a pinout ) as these are the packages I have access to and am familiar with. This is very clunky, as everything is done manually without intelligent connections/pinout generation from a schematic. As such, small errors can balloon very easily.

Further, in actually running the wiring from the Opto cards to the test fixtures/equipment there is a substantial amount of labor, and there is the matter of making everything as easy to repair/maintain as possible.

I am very interested in what other Opto users use in these areas.

1.) Does anyone have a schematic program they use (possibly with a custom Opto library?) to generate pinouts/boms?

2.) What Cabling/Interconnect products do you typically use with your Opto, especially in going from control cabinet to equipment?

Thanks,

Travis

Hi Travis,

Excellent question! I’m looking forward to seeing what other folks have to share on this. Just in case you haven’t heard of our TEX line of accessories, here’s an OptoMinute video to give you and overview of how they can make wiring from the modules easier.

There are a couple of ways our tools can help you with a BOM. In modern versions of PAC Control, go to File > View/Print > Bill of Materials:

Also, if you haven’t tried the Snap I/O Unit Configurator on our website (under the orange “Learn” tab then “Animated Demos”), it’s fun to use and can also help you build a BOM:

Please share any comments/requests/suggestions!

Thanks,
-OptoMary

Hi Travis