Finding the IP address of my Opto B3000

I have an Opto 22 that was connected to a PC running Wonderware that crashed. I created a virtual machine and loaded all the software for Wonderware and the Opt 22 IO Manager. I am getting a communication error with the Opto 22 on the ethernet. I am by no means an expert on this hardware. I was trying to figure out what the IP address was for the ethernet connection and really do not know where to begin. I downloaded the manuals and tried to figure it out.

Since this was probably originally loaded with all defaults and nothing that would point to the exisiting network, can I assume that the connection is using loopback? If it is set to something else, how do I find out what the IP address would be? If I need additional equipment, please let me know (like the RS232 connector that I know for sure I don’t have).

Thanks!
David

Hi David,

Welcome to the forums! Sorry to hear your PC crashed. Don’t forget, our Product Support is FREE! and they’d be happy to help.

However, if you have PAC Manager – free to download, click here (older versions might’ve been called “IO Manager”), then you can use the “Find” tool to have it find Opto 22 Ethernet (MMP Devices) are on your network.

In PAC Manager, click Tools > Find Opto 22 MMP Devices, then click the “Find” button. The devices that respond will show their IP Address and other info. For example, in this list you see a SNAP-B3000-ENET there second from the bottom. I’m guessing that’s the type of hardware you have?

Hope that helps!
-OptoMary

aMary,