Ethernet/IP using Opto but not AB

I have a contract to retrofit a system that I installed back in 2000. The existing system uses PAMUX I/O connected to a PC using RTX ( www.intervalzero.com ). RTX is a realtime controller that is installed under Windows. The user interface is Citect Scada. Shared memory allows the scada and the controller to pass parameters and data. I am going to upgrade everything and I will replace the pamux with ehternet/IP. I am just getting started and am a newbie to Ethernet/IP (EIP) so it should be interesting. I have a Hischer Cifx50-RE scanner card and they have a EIP driver for RTX. I think this is going to be pretty interesting and if anybody has comments, ideas, or questions. I would love to hear them - thx

Hi CaptBixley,

Welcome to the forums! I’m curious what your overall goal is here? Do you NEED to rip out the PAMUX I/O? I ask because one of the great things about Opto 22 is how we support many of our legacy hardware brains, etc. so you can save the expense of replacing the I/O, wiring, etc. in many situations.

For example, we have PC boards and toolkits that support PAMUX on modern operating systems, like this PC-PAMUX-SDK.

Is EIP a requirement? Is speed of communication w/the I/O important? Tell us more! Usually there are many options and we’ve love to save you as much time/effort by giving you as many ideas and choices as possible.

Thanks,
-OptoMary

No, but I see ethernet as more vesatile and more state of the art. I deployed a number of snap pamux over the years and I had some problems with the Snap-B6 brain - in a number of my systems the program inside the brain would stop running. This problem was never resolved.