Download Strategy to SNAP PAC R1 Controller

Hi everyone, I am writing this since I am completely new to OPTO22 hardware and software
and my question may be very simple but I have doubts on how to download my strategy
into the controller I am using.
This is the scenario: I have a laptop where I have the strategy, I need to download to the controller, can I use an Ethernet cable to connect directly and use the loopback IP address of the controller to communicate with it?
Now, what are steps I need to take in order to download properly?

Thanks for your help

If you have configured an IP address (not the loopback address) in your controller and configured your computer to be on the same subnet as the controller, an ethernet cable will do the trick. Beyond that, make sure you configured the controller’s IP address in the control engine you have selected for your strategy, and the strategy will download when you click Debug. Opto22’s documentation on the controller walks you through the steps in pretty good detail, suggest you start with the docs for your controller and go from there Almost all the documentation you need will already be installed on your system when you installed PAC Project, just go to Help/Manuals/Browse other PAC Project manuals.

Hi JesusGlobal,
Welcome to the forums! There’s an exception to what rcobourn mentions above: If you are using PAC Sim (our PAC Simulator) running on the same PC as your PAC Control software, then you would use the loopback address (127.0.0.1) to communicate with it. But since you mentioned an Ethernet cable, I’m guessing you have a “real” controller? Have you assigned an IP address to that controller using PAC Manager?
-OptoMary

Thank you very much for the iformation given, Yes I have a real controller SNAP PAC R1, I am using 4 SNAP ODC5R Digital outputs
and one analog output SNAP AIV-i.