Can I define/change Block ID manually

Hello all,

I am having many machines (similar but not the same) running a piece of program, which keeping evolving in the last 10 years.

Sometimes, the site engineers would like to have the newly developed functions on the old machines. So I clone the necessary bits and merge to the old program.

I am using the Block ID number for tracking the change point. Unfortunately, the Block ID is self-generated by the editing software. I would like to know if there is a way I can define/change Block ID, so I can maintain all versions program with the same Block ID.

If not, anyone can share an idea how to maintain the program in a tidy manner? Thank you very much!

P.S. My background is PLC programmer, Opto22 is new for me.

Ming Yue

Hello Ming,

Welcome to the OptoForums! You are correct, each Block ID is self-generated. You cannot define/change those Block IDs. However, both charts and subroutines are modular and easy to re-use as you describe. For example, if you were to export a chart from one strategy and import it into another, your Block IDs would be the same on each copy of that chart.

I’d strongly recommend you use lots of comments to help keep track of your changes. You might find this [U][B]Best Practices document[/B][/U] helpful especially the section on Documenting your projects, with good use of comments, etc.

Are you using any subroutines yet? They’re designed to help you re-use code. If/when you decide to use them, you might find [U][B]this post[/B][/U] helpful too.

-OptoMary

Hello Mary,

Thank you very much for the suggestions!

I am new for the role and the program was done by the previous engineers. The blocks were commented by their function, many with the duplicated comments…

As you suggested, I am thinking to setup a naming system and tidy up the comments. Two questions in my head:

1. Can I edit the block comments in a batch, open/close individual block is painful…