Alternative to the adapter cable for high density IO modules?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the Opto SNAP system and automation control in general. As I become more familiar with the SNAP system and my machine in which I’m adding the SNAP system my imagination is taking off with all the sensors I can add and control I can support. This led me to look at the higher channel density modules and I was surprised (disappointed) to see the 16 and 32 channel modules require a cable. :frowning:

It’s not so much the cost (although it’s expensive) as the awkward nature of an intermediate adapter cable. Now I can’t simply route a wire to a screw terminal but instead I need to have a terminal block and make the connection there.

Have any of you found an alternate method to hook up to the high density modules? Is the female connector a standard connector that can be purchased?

If you use the 16 or 32 channel modules would you be willing to post a photo of your installation? Hopefully images of a clean install will encourage me and reduce the buzzkill I have right now.

Gudday,

Are you looking for a screw terminal, 16 or 32 of them, right on top of the HD module? (Just like the 2/4 channel modules?)
If so, interesting idea… not sure how you’d fit them, but interesting idea…

Regarding if the connector is a standard connector that can be purchased, the answer is yes.
Yes its standard and yes you can buy them.

Take a look at page 11 and page 13 of the High Density Digital Module Data Sheet.
On those pages, there is a section ‘Building your own wiring harness for a xx module’.
It has the Molex part numbers for the connector and the pins.

At the hospital, we ran the Opto cables from the HD modules to the screw terminals in the cabinets.
The field wiring was then terminated at that screw terminal strip.
(Most of our panels were made in the panel shop, so every SNAP module was wired back to this screw terminal strip, no matter what density or type).