Accessing older chart files

Hi,

I’m completely new to this and just started with my company, so please excuse my ignorance! We have a legacy product which was running under “Factory Floor”. My mission is to upgrade this product to upgrade to new SNAP PAC modules and port these old strategies/charts to work with the new PAC’s. I’m not sure what version these were written in - they have file extensions of “.cht” and if I try opening them in PAC Control Basic (free version) they are unrecognized.

Is there a way to determine the version I need to open these? And then, is that older version available?

Again, excuse my ignorance - thanks so much for the support!
Mark.

Hello Mark,

Welcome to the OptoForums! Check out this doc #1692 our FactoryFloor to PAC Migration Tech Note.

In general, when upgrading from a Factory Floor controller (like an LCM4) to a PAC Controller (like a SNAP-PAC-S or SNAP-PAC-R) you’ll need to first make sure you’re on FactoryFloor R4.1, then open that strategy (your program/logic, which includes a number of files, including those charts you mentioned) in PAC Control PRO (not the free Basic one you mentioned). All this is described in the doc linked above. But there are some things you’ll want to consider/prepare (like making backups) before you do that…

In any case, also remember that our product support is FREE! and they’ve helped loads of people upgrade.

Could you tell us what hardware you have and want to switch to? Your 10,000 foot “goal”?

Happy upgrading!

-OptoMary

Hello OptoMary,

Thanks for the reply. I did have a look at doc #1692, thanks for the suggestion. Again, I’m pretty new at this, but it appears we are upgrading from Factory Floor LMC4 controllers to the latest software with SNAP-PAC-R controllers.